BLOG ENTRY 12, 11 & 10!

Blog entry 12

3rd annual Beach WOD took all my energy yesterday. Which was for the best because I got 8 hours of sleep. I woke up all the ready but super hungry! I had some decent amount of oatmeal which did its job. Coached a fun class then started training with my team at 7am.
We all felt super beat up in our shoulders from kettle bell snatches & jerks. It was more of a shoulder fatigue then sore. So I was worried it would effect our 95% attempts at snatches.
Got in a good warm up with voodoo bands & some GHD back extensions to warm up the posterior chain. Then got the snatching. Weight was flying up. The bottom position was on FLEEK! I felt frisky after strength training was up & I went for a PR & hit it on the first attempt. Woot!!! Still felt light & went for a double PR!!! I hit it easy again but got to excited & didn’t stand it.
I was super happy! So the weight is not an issue anymore it’s more working on timing now. Snatch is def become one of my fav lifts. It’s so technical that the struggle became the beauty. Some minor things to fix on the lift but I will go visit our buddy Camargo soon for some one on one.
Got into the 2nd part of the WOD which was deadlifts & sprints. I worry all the time for the deadlift but today wow not an issue after several rounds of 8 reps tap & go. Pain free. The sprints I felt it. One running in lifters is a No No! Didn’t have time to switch shoes but I can say running at 175 I feel it. I am happy with the strength gains & muscle mass gains. 180 will be fun to get up to but even fun to test out the engine.
Training with a great group of peeps makes working out & fitness so much fun. I can’t thank God enough for putting these amazing ladies & gents in my life. We lift each other up daily. Always so positive & loving.
Had to take off before 3rd workout to go teach. Slammed down some protein & eggs to fuel. Need a little more carbs will def refuel before hitting that last metcon tonight.
Super GRATEFUL & THANKFUL for the journey.

Video:

Blog entry 12 3rd annual Beach WOD took all my energy yesterday. Which was for the best because I got 8 hours of sleep. I woke up all the ready but super hungry! I had some decent amount of oatmeal which did its job. Coached a fun class then started training with my team at 7am. We all felt super beat up in our shoulders from kettle bell snatches & jerks. It was more of a shoulder fatigue then sore. So I was worried it would effect our 95% attempts at snatches. Got in a good warm up with voodoo bands & some GHD back extensions to warm up the posterior chain. Then got the snatching. Weight was flying up. The bottom position was on FLEEK! I felt frisky after strength training was up & I went for a PR & hit it on the first attempt. Woot!!! Still felt light & went for a double PR!!! I hit it easy again but got to excited & didn't stand it. I was super happy! So the weight is not an issue anymore it's more working on timing now. Snatch is def become one of my fav lifts. It's so technical that the struggle became the beauty. Some minor things to fix on the lift but I will go visit our buddy Camargo soon for some one on one. Got into the 2nd part of the WOD which was deadlifts & sprints. I worry all the time for the deadlift but today wow not an issue after several rounds of 8 reps tap & go. Pain free. The sprints I felt it. One running in lifters is a No No! Didn't have time to switch shoes but I can say running at 175 I feel it. I am happy with the strength gains & muscle mass gains. 180 will be fun to get up to but even fun to test out the engine. Training with a great group of peeps makes working out & fitness so much fun. I can't thank God enough for putting these amazing ladies & gents in my life. We lift each other up daily. Always so positive & loving. Had to take off before 3rd workout to go teach. Slammed down some protein & eggs to fuel. Need a little more carbs will def refuel before hitting that last metcon tonight. Super GRATEFUL & THANKFUL for the journey. #liveasanexample #teammdi #godschild #crossfitmdi #cfmdi #crossfit #blessed #fitness #motivation #dedication #inspiration #ptsmade #preservingthesexy #npti #metconicon

A post shared by Mr. PTS "Luis A. Lopez III" (@livinglegendlou) on

Blog Entry 11

It’s safe to say the 3rd annual CrossFit M.D.I. memorial beach WOD was really EPIC!!! A huge turnout of amazing peeps. The PIC OF THE AFTERMATH tent says it all. We have officially retired this tent & location. Next year we plan on having a bigger location to hold the EPICNESS!!! Boat party WOD anyone?
So the day started 4am waking up & getting baby Olivia ready. The beach all day would be to much for her so she got much needed grandparent time. It’s tough to leave her because I want her to be with us at all times. But she is still to young for an all day event in the sun like that. Got many text from grandma & grandpa showing how happy she was. So I was happy.
On the way to the beach stopped & ate oatmeal & eggs whites. It was a great pick me up before heading to the beach & dragging 16 kettle bells, chairs, Tent & more to the location.
During the set up it felt so amazing to see how many faces & smiles where excited about the WOD. Big turn out so we had teams of 3 & 4 per group. The sun, sand & heavy kettle bell was brutal but Ohh so good. I’m sure my feet will feel it tomorrow after that kettlebell run on the beach shells. ALL THE HURT.
I got to throw down with my bros Donovan & Jacob. Great partners. The buy out swim felt like heaven. Then it was on!!! 3 matches in Volley Ball! Super fun but OMG the body felt it.
Ate a lot of good food, deli turkey cuts, 2 protein shakes, boiled eggs, humus, tuna & fruits on the beach. Had 1 blue moon & plenty of water to wash it down. Hey it needed to be done. LOL
Packed up alil after 3. It was time to pick up my Meh Meh. I missed her. All the M.D.I. peeps came together & helped drag a billion kettle bells back to the car. On the way home had to do it!!! A juicy burger 21 double stack meat with bacon & guac. I needed the macros & protein after he sun took everything out of me.
All in all a blessed day. I can’t thank our M.D.I. family enough for making our BOX & community so special. I love you all. Time to enjoy my Olivia.

www.crossfitmdi.com
http://www.crossfitmdi.com

Blog entry 10

Day started of blessed. My eyes opened up. I was able to kiss my wife & daughter good morning.
Got ready & noticed Olivia was really warm. She had a slight fever this morning 100.8 she is starting to get teeth so I heard it normal but of course I am a new parent I freak out. LOL Thank God for my wife. She calms me down & says its normal & took her a bath to relax & gave her baby meds. Fever went down.
I knew right away my Olivia Lynn will be just fine because when I told her good morning she lights up with a huge smile like she always does. She is such a goof ball.
Got focused took my joint supplements & oatmeal & got to the gym a lil after 7am. The team was already fired up for Murph!
I warmed up slapped on the 20lb vest & got to trucking. First mile brutal. My skin was rubbing on the vest & giving me like a rug burn on my chest. When I got back threw chalk down my vest to help.
High rep pull ups use to be a big struggle a year ago but with time & practice I destroyed them this year & didn’t rip after 100! Hands felt fine.
Push ups no prob & got to squatting. My vest kept dumping my chest over & really taxing my quads & knee. My team mate Belinda told me to loosen the vest & the weight was distributed better & 300 squats later I took off for 2nd mile. 37 minutes total! Beat last year by over 20 minutes!
Felt great after. Did a cool down walk with my big bro Jacob & Olivia. Best part was that Olivia was with me & my wife the entire WOD. She loved it!!! Giggling while her mommy was working out.
I have serious calorie making up to do today. After coaching greatest M.D.I. peeps had to take off to teach at school. A TRX suspension course. Great class I was running on kill cliff bar & drink. I plan on ALL THe food now! Feel dehydrated I know because on my bathroom break it showed! 😱 time to hydrate & head home to enjoy my family & watch regionals. Maybe even enjoy my pool & I def deserve a BEER! Tomorrow all the rest! Love you peeps. God Bless.

Video:

Blog entry 10 Day started of blessed. My eyes opened up. I was able to kiss my wife & daughter good morning. Got ready & noticed Olivia was really warm. She had a slight fever this morning 100.8 she is starting to get teeth so I heard it normal but of course I am a new parent I freak out. LOL Thank God for my wife. She calms me down & says its normal & took her a bath to relax & gave her baby meds. Fever went down. I knew right away my Olivia Lynn will be just fine because when I told her good morning she lights up with a huge smile like she always does. She is such a goof ball. Got focused took my joint supplements & oatmeal & got to the gym a lil after 7am. The team was already fired up for Murph! I warmed up slapped on the 20lb vest & got to trucking. First mile brutal. My skin was rubbing on the vest & giving me like a rug burn on my chest. When I got back threw chalk down my vest to help. High rep pull ups use to be a big struggle a year ago but with time & practice I destroyed them this year & didn't rip after 100! Hands felt fine. Push ups no prob & got to squatting. My vest kept dumping my chest over & really taxing my quads & knee. My team mate Belinda told me to loosen the vest & the weight was distributed better & 300 squats later I took off for 2nd mile. 37 minutes total! Beat last year by over 20 minutes! Felt great after. Did a cool down walk with my big bro Jacob & Olivia. Best part was that Olivia was with me & my wife the entire WOD. She loved it!!! Giggling while her mommy was working out. I have serious calorie making up to do today. After coaching greatest M.D.I. peeps had to take off to teach at school. A TRX suspension course. Great class I was running on kill cliff bar & drink. I plan on ALL THe food now! Feel dehydrated I know because on my bathroom break it showed! 😱 time to hydrate & head home to enjoy my family & watch regionals. Maybe even enjoy my pool & I def deserve a BEER! Tomorrow all the rest! Love you peeps. God Bless. #liveasanexample #teammdi #godschild #crossfitmdi #cfmdi #crossfit #blessed #fitness #motivation #dedication #inspiration #ptsmade #preservingthesexy #npti #metconicon

A post shared by Mr. PTS "Luis A. Lopez III" (@livinglegendlou) on

Leave a Reply

